top of page

This Horror/Fantasy Will Make You Fear The Water

Into the Drowning Deep

By: Mira Grant

Read: 1/16/18- 1/20/18

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

Prompt: Book set at sea

A book from the library

"But they had sailed off the edge of the map, into the waters the cartographers had marked with “Here be monsters” and a picture of something terrible and toothy - a warning to unwary sailors that the was, perhaps not the best route to carry them home.”

I was first introduced to this book by Michelle at That’s What She Read. She wrote an awesome post about her review of the book. I’m not a huge horror fan, but her review intrigued me. I immediately reserved it at my library, and they hadn’t even distributed the copies yet. (Side note: I get 90% of my books from the library or used book sales. So I rarely get to read a BRAND NEW book. I was pretty excited that I was the first person to read this copy!)

From Goodreads:

Seven years ago, the Atargatis set off on a voyage to the Mariana Trench to film a “mockumentary” bringing to life ancient sea creatures of legend. It was lost at sea with all hands. Some have called it a hoax; others have called it a maritime tragedy. Now, a new crew has been assembled. But this time they’re not out to entertain. Some seek to validate their life’s work. Some seek the greatest hunt of all. Some seek the truth. But for the ambitious young scientist Victoria Stewart this is a voyage to uncover the fate of the sister she lost. Whatever the truth may be, it will only be found below the waves. But the secrets of the deep come with a price.

My thoughts:

A couple of things made it hard for me to really get into the tension that Mira Grant was trying to build. And none of them were her fault! I really like her style of writing and will be looking at her other books. But I had a two year old demanding attention and work interrupting my reading time. As well as an inch of snow on the ground; it made it hard for me to put myself in the middle of the Pacific Ocean in August. I did find that Hans Zimmer makes an excellent soundtrack to boost the suspension and terror.

As I said, I really like Mira Grant’s style of writing. The relationships between characters are clear and understandable. Through the dialogue and actions, I could plainly see the friendship and affection between Tori and Luis. Mira Grant didn't just come straight out and say "They're close friends." I liked how the short chapters heightened the tension (Oh no, the chapter is ending! What’s about to happen?). The mermaids have a great and terrifying description: slimy, bioluminescent hair, countless teeth, and pouty lips. And scary fast! I was pretty happy that although there were a lot of science terms and discussion, it was all “dumbed down” for me. I love science, especially marine biology, but I certainly don’t know anything about Cryptozoology.

Mira Grant showed her humorous side with hilarious observations mixed into the horror:

“One of the crabs had a scrap of kelp in its claws, and was waving it like a terrible pom pom.”

And remarking on a conversation between two deaf sisters:

“They had resumed their silent argument, their hands flashing so fast that it was like the world’s most aggressive game of patty-cake.”

bottom of page