top of page

The year in review and a look ahead

In 2017, I got serious about my reading. I started reviewing more books, and I launched Pinchy’s Pages. I read the entire Game of Thrones series. I discovered Joe Hill and found an interest in horror because of him. I really got into Kevin Kwan's Crazy Rich Asians series. And I found a new love of nonfiction through the historical narrative Destiny of the Republic: A Tale of Madness, Medicine and the Murder of a President.

I tracked everything on Goodreads. I took a look at my stats for the year. I love stats. I can see exactly what I have done and it makes me feel like I accomplished something!

2017

As of December 22nd 2017:

I read 115 books (My goal for the year was 80)

I have read 42,828 pages

I read 88 authors

Smallest book: 40 pages (The Mermaid by Jodi Picoult)

Largest book: 1,177 (Storm of Swords George R. R. Martin)

Most Popular: 1,604,588 people also read Game of Thrones By: George R. R. Martin

Least Popular: 17 people also read Kate and The Kid By: Anne Rothman-Hicks (Which is a shame! It’s fantastic!)

Gave average rating of: 3.5 stars

2018

I plan on upping my goal just a little to 90. Blogging will be cutting into my reading time, but since I’m writing about reading, I’m OK with it.

I’m looking to read more non fiction this year. I tend to read as a distraction from the world, but recently I'm wanting to know more about our world. I signed up to Doing Dewey’s Nonfiction Reading Challenge. I plan on reading 12 nonfiction this year.

What about you?What are your plans for 2018? Do you have any nonfiction recommendations?

bottom of page